the vampire for these times...

It’s the cusp of August. The humidity makes me feel like I’m swimming sluggishly through the summer days, treading murky water to stay afloat. And then there’s the blissfully cool rooms of my apartment where the cats lurk and stay cool. On cooler nights I turn off the AC and open the windows and let them enjoy the scent of the night. Little cats in windows, watching so curiously, the world around them.

It is hard to surrender the nights. The times when I’m when finally home, alone, myself, doing what I choose. Resolved at that point of the day to whatever mood has happened by then. The morning always starts over again. Every single morning I have to claw myself back to civility and level ground and new optimism.

I don’t know how I’m going to get through August. A horrible hot box of memories, every day.

I do know how I’ve been getting through July. IWTV & The Vampire Chronicles have been keeping me going. I have plunged headfirst into loving Lestat, and it’s an extremely pleasurable activity.

I’m trying to remember how much of season one we watched before you died. The first episode?? A few episodes? The whole season? I can’t remember. Mostly I always remember you describing the end of the movie and the way Lestat says, “Oh, Louis, always whining,” with a dramatic flourish of your arm.

Except when I rewatched the movie, I noticed the line was still, not always. I think I prefer your version, or my memory of it.

Anyway, I read the first book and now I am happily enjoying the dramatic, emotional adventures of Lestat in The Vampire Lestat. Trying not to devour it too quickly, but also not wanting to avoid spoilers, as usual. I’m glad there are more books to come. This was the series I needed right now.

Summer is a terrible time to get invested in vampires though. It is far too hot to wear pretty much anything flowing and vampiric. How the heck did they manage it in New Orleans?

….I have just answered my own question, because obviously vampires do not sweat. Do not @ me. That reason alone is enough to accept the Dark Gift, just saying.

We will see how I travel through the August days. Sweaty and sad, probably.

Discuss...